Congratulations to our 2020 Graduates and Award Winners

Congratulations to the class of 2020! We’re excited for you to celebrate your university achievements, and to embark on your next chapter and the bright future ahead.We celebrated our Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering Master of Engineering graduates on November 23, 2020 as part of the virtual Mechanical Engineering Virtual Graduation Reception and Awards Ceremony. If you missed the event, we will post a recording featuring words from Department Head Dr. Steve Feng, as well as special guest Dean James Olson, a toast to the graduating class by NAME  graduate and SNAME Chair Jasbir Singh, and congratulatory remarks from faculty, including NAME Director Jon Mikkelsen and Adjunct Professor and former Co-Director Chris McKesson.


Graduate Academic Achievement Awards

These awards are given to graduate students who have achieved an overall average throughout their program of above 90%.

    • Johnathen Baldwin
    • Janica Echavez
    • Kyle Manson
    • Phillip Wampold

Leadership Awards

These awards are given to students who have continually excelled in providing leadership and inspiration to their peers throughout their degree, and recognize student contributions to the engineering community.

Johnathen Baldwin – MEng, NAME
Polar Corvette Project
Janica Echavez – MEng, NAME
Mariclean project and NAME 592 BC Ferries data project
Vincent Loputra – MEng, NAME
NAME program support
Kyle Manson – MEng, NAME
NAME peer mentorship
Anupam Saha – MEng, NAME
NAME program development
Jasbir Singh – MEng, NAME
SNAME student section
Phillip Wampold – MEng, NAME
Performance Yacht Design
Clay Wirsing – MEng, NAME
UBC Sailbot


Naval Architecture & Marine Engineering Design Award

This recognizes outstanding accomplishments in engineering design for the NAME MEng final ship design project, which was selected by members of industry and alumni at the 2020 Student Design Presentation.

The PHK-20 Team

Project: “Performance Expedition Yacht”

Team members:

    • Kyle Manson
    • Harshdeep Reen
    • Phillip Wampold

The Student Design Presentation is an annual event usually held at a formal dinner on Campus, but this year due to COVID-19 NAME held its first virtual version. All four teams presented their ship designs on Zoom to great success in front of professionals from a wide range of marine companies. Their designs had been created with input from industry members, and we were proud to showcase the work of our students to the wider marine community.  Congratulations to the winning Performance Expedition Yacht design team, but also to Airport Passenger Ferry, MariClean, and Modular Polar Corvette on their hard work and innovative designs.

L3 MAPPS Award in Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering

Global marine supplier L3 MAPPS has generously established an award to support students entering the marine industry. The award was created to encourage promising students to study naval architecture and marine engineering. The 2020 winners are:

  • Janica Echavez
  • Phillip Wampold
  • Leandra Siems-Hoffmann
  • Johnathen Baldwin

Jagdeep Singh Bakshi Scholarship in Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering

An annual scholarship of $1000 is offered in memoriam of Jagdeep Singh Bakshi to NAME students who demonstrate leadership and academic excellence.  The winner for 2020 is Jasbir Singh.

Congratulations to the award winners and to all of our graduates on their achievements! Good luck as you move forward into the future and your career!